WPM


Radio Control

Selecting a Transmitter
Programming Tip: Reverse-Lock with Lowered Tiller


Selecting a Transmitter

Which RC system to use depends on the functionality of the model. Most models will have servos to mechanically lift the snow blade, and eventually also for the nick function (cutting angle). For such models a "normal" RC-system is absolutely sufficient, these are available from many vendors und relatively cheap.

But if you want to implement hydraulics for all 6 functions of the snow blade you will quickly reach the limits of these RC systems. We tried a level-switching module, which was not successful as the control valves could not be adjusted individually. Here you have to reach deaper into your pockets and acquire a specific RC-system for functional models.

We are using both systems, for our mechanically controlled models we decided to use the HiTec Aurora 9 or the Aurora 9X due to the following reasons:
- 9 channels
- flexible programming
- user friendly, large touch screen display
- expandable telemetry functions - the receiver battery voltage is shown by default on the transmitter
- rather low price for the available functionality


ScaleArt Commander SA-1000


Hitec Aurora 9X


For our hydraulically controlled PB400 we acquired the Scaleart Commander SA-1000 with the receiver CM-5000 due to the following reasons:
- practically unlimited number of channels
- extensive programming capabilities specifically for functional models
- specific hydraulics functions
- telemetry allows complete monitoring of the driving battery
- direct connection of the Pistenking Kingbus light system
The considerable cheaper system of Servonaut is limited to a maximum of 12 channels. This is a few channels short of what is needed for a snow groomer.

Back to top


Programming Tip: Reverse-Lock with Lowered Tiller

An unintentional reverse drive with a lowered tiller should be avoided by all means in order to not damage the tiller. At the big snow cats the tiller is therefore automatically raised or the reverse drive is blocked. The most elegant way is of course to use the Hydromaster AFF from Pistenking which lifts the tiller automatically in reverse drive.

We tried to program an automotic raising of the tiller when driving backwards by using the mixers. But here it showed that the mixers are intended for aircraft models, where only small amounts of control movements have to be added. This approach was not successful. Maybe the mixers can be used for winch operation, but we are not there yet.

But a reverse-lock was relatively easy to achieve:

Put the driving function forward/reverse on the throttle channel. This channel is different from all other channels, as it does not go from -100 to +100, but from 0 to 100. Therefore the center position ist at 50. This means the snow cat is not moving. The receiver treats every channel the same, and for the speed controller it does therefore not make a difference which channel is used on the transmitter. The Aurora 9 allows a free selection of the throttle channel as well as of all other channels.
For aircraft different throttle curves may be programmed, like for normal flight or for aerobatics. These are changed by a switch.
An undocumented advantage of the Aurora 9 is the fact, that switches can be used twice. Here we use switch B (SW-B) at the same time for raising/lowering the tiller and for changing the throttle curve.

The pictures show the different throttle curves: for switch SW-B in position 1 (tiller up) the throttle curve is linear from 0 - 100: the snow cat can be driven as usual:

Aurora9

For SW-B in position 0 (tiller down) the throttle curve is at 50% for the entire range of the control stick from center to rear position. This means that the snow cat cannot move backwards, because this is the zero position for the speed controller:

Aurora9

Only if the tiller is raised the throttle curve is switched to the regular line and the snow cat is again driveable without restrictions.

Such a programming of a throttle curve can certainly be done on other programmable transmitters, too. But we don't know if you are able to use just one and the same switch for lifting the tiller and for switching the throttle curve. But exactly this feature enables the desired operating safety.

Back to top
Back to Overview

WPM


Fernsteuerung

Auswahl der Fernsteuerung
Programmiertipp:Rückfahrsperre bei abgesenkter Fräse


Auswahl der Fernsteuerung

Welche Fernsteuerung man verwenden soll hängt vom Funktionsumfang des Modells ab. Bei mechanischer Ansteuerung des Räumschilds mit Servos wird zumeist nur die Hubfunktion und evtl. noch die Neigung (Schnittwinkel) realisiert werden. Für solche Modelle reicht eine "normale" Fernsteuerung vollkommen aus, diese sind von vielen Herstellern verfügbar und relativ preisgünstig.

Will man allerdings Hydraulik mit allen 6 Funktionen des Räumschilds einsetzen, stößt man mit diesen Anlagen schnell an die Grenzen. Wir haben es mit Ebenenumschaltern probiert, was aber nicht zielführend war, weil damit die Steuerventile nicht individuell eingestellt werden können. Hier muss man dann etwas tiefer in die Tasche greifen und eine spezielle Fernsteuerungsanlage für Funktionsmodelle anschaffen.

Wir haben beide Anlagen im Einsatz, für die mechanisch gesteuerten Modelle haben wir uns für die HiTec Aurora 9 bzw. Aurora 9X entschieden, aus folgenden Gründen:
- 9 Kanäle
- flexible Programmierung
- benutzerfreundliches, großes Touch-Screen Display
- ausbaubare Telemetriefunktionen - die Empfängerakkuspannung wird standardmäßig am Sender angezeigt.
- erstaunlich günstiger Preis für die gebotene Funktionalität


ScaleArt Commander SA-1000


Hitec Aurora 9X

 

Für unseren hydraulisch gesteuerten PB400 haben wir die Scaleart Commander SA-1000 mit dem Empfänger CM-5000 angeschafft, aus folgenden Gründen:
- praktisch unbegrenzte Anzahl an Kanälen
- umfangreiche Programmiermöglichkeiten speziell für Funktionsmodelle
- spezielle Hydraulikfunktionen
- Telemetrie erlaubt komplette Überwachung des Fahrakkus
- direkter Anschluss von Pistenking Kingbus Lichtanlage
Die deutlich günstigere Anlage von Servonaut kann leider nur maximal 12 Kanäle, und das ist um ein paar Kanäle zu wenige für eine Pistenraupe.

Zurück zum Anfang


Programmier-Tipp: Rückfahrsperre bei abgesenkter Fräse

Ein unbeabsichtigtes Rückwärtsfahren bei abgesenkter Fräse sollte man tunlichst vermeiden, um die Fräse nicht zu beschädigen. Beim Original wird sie deswegen entweder automatisch angehoben oder einfach die Rückwärtsfahrt blockiert. Die eleganteste Methode ist auf jeden Fall der Hydromaster AFF von Pistenking, der die Fräse bei Rückwärtsfahrt automatisch anhebt.

Ein automatisches Anheben der Fräse bei Rückwärtsfahrt haben wir über Mixer versucht zu programmieren. Hier merkt man, dass die Mixer auf Flugmodelle ausgelegt sind, wo nur relativ geringe Steuerausschläge dazu gemischt werden müssen. Dieser Ansatz war also nicht brauchbar.

Dafür war aber die Rückfahrsperre relativ einfach umzusetzen:

Man legt die Fahrfunktion vor-/rückwärts auf den Gaskanal (Throttle). Dieser geht im Unterschied zu allen anderen Kanälen nicht von -100 bis +100, sondern von 0 bis 100. Daher liegt die Mitte hier bei 50, das heißt da steht die Raupe. Dem Fahrtregler ist das nämlich egal, was der Sender meint. Für den Empfänger ist jeder Kanal gleichwertig. Bei der Aurora 9 kann man den Gaskanal (und alle anderen Kanäle) beliebig zuordnen.
Bei Flugzeugen kann man unterschiedliche Gaskurven programmieren, zB für Normalflug und für Kunstflug. Diese werden über einen Schalter umgeschaltet.
Ein undokumentierter Vorteil der Aurora 9 ist, dass man Schalter doppelt belegen kann. So verwenden wir den Schalter B (SW-B) gleichzeitig für das Heben/Senken der Fräse und zum Umschalten der Gaskurve.

Auf den Bildern sieht man die unterschiedlichen Gaskurven: für Schalter SW-B in Position 1 (Fräse oben) ist die Gaskurve normal linear von 0 - 100: die Raupe ist wie gewohnt fahrbar:

Aurora9


Für SW-B in Postion 0 (Fräse unten) verläuft die Gaskurve im gesamten Bereich von Knüppel in der Mitte bis Knüppel hinten horizontal bei 50%, das heißt die Raupe kann nicht rückwärts fahren, weil das für den Fahrtregler die Nullposition ist:

Aurora9

Erst wenn die Fräse angehoben wird, wird gleichzeitig wieder auf die normale Gaskurve umgeschaltet und die Raupe ist uneingeschränkt fahrbar.

Diese Programmierung der Gaskurve lässt sich sicher auch auf anderen Computersendern durchführen. Ob man dabei allerdings nur einen Schalter für die Fräse und das Umschalten der Gaskurve verwenden kann, entzieht sich unserer Kenntnis. Aber genau diese Möglichkeit bietet die gewünschte Betriebssicherheit.

Zurück zum Anfang
Zurück zur Übersicht