WPM


Simulation of Hydraulics

Most modelers are using a servo for raising and lowering of the snow blade. Electronic modules are available on the market to allow a simulation of hydraulics: the blade will not move in the control stick's center position, and move slower or faster in the desired direction according to the stick movement. If the stick is quickly returned to center, the blade will remain in its last position just like with a real hydraulic system.

Pistenking offers it's Hydromaster exactly for this purpose. It allows to drive 2 separate servos. Furthermore the neutral position of each servo can be saved by pressing a button, which is automatically approached after switching on the receiver. The end poinst for each servo can also be saved individually. The Hydromaster is simply installed between receiver and servo.


Pic: Pistenking Hydromaster

The company Tematik (Germany) offers the Servonaut TRIM Module for that purpose. But the programming card Servonaut CARD has to be bought in addition to set-up the TRIM module. We acquired both parts shortly after they were available and tested them. The programming was done without problems, and the function meets the expectations.

The company CTI is offering since quite some time the significantly cheaper ServoSteller Weg-Tip-Delay for this purpose. But this module was not useable for us, because it only allows the reduction of travel for both directions together. In our case a complicated new adjustment of the rods would have been necessary.

It makes sense to put the raising/lowering function of the blade on one of the two main control sticks, which in most cases is centered by springs. Most transmitters allow to remove or de-activate this spring. Then the blade position matches exactly the stick position. If one does not want to remove the spring, then one of these two modules is a real alternative, and it also gives you the feeling of having hydraulics.

TRIM Modul
Pic: Servonaut TRIM and Servonaut CARD

TRIM
Pic: Programming the Servonaut TRIM directly on the snow cat

Back to Overview

WPM


Simulation der Hydraulikfunktion

Die meisten Modellbauer verwenden ein Servo für das Heben und Senken des Räumschildes. Es gibt am Markt Elektronikmodule, die eine Simulation einer Hydraulik erlauben, also dass in Nullstellung der Schild stehen bleibt, und er je nach Knüppelbewegung langsam oder schneller in die gewünschte Richtung bewegt wird. Lässt man den Knüpple schnell auf die Mittelstellung zurück, bleibt der Schild wie bei einer echten Hydraulik in der letzten Position stehen.

Pistenking bietet genau dafür den Hydromaster an. Damit kann man gleich 2 verschiedene Servos ansteuern. Außerdem wird einfach per Taster auf dem Modul die Nullstellung des Servos gespeichert, welche nach dem Einschalten automatisch angefahren wird. Die Servowege lassen sich ebenfalls separat einstellen. Der Hydromaster wird einfach zwischen Empfänger und Servo gesteckt.


Abb: Pistenking Hydromaster

Die Firma Tematik bietet das Servonaut TRIM Modul an. Allerdings muss zur Programmierung zusätzlich die Programmierkarte Servonaut CARD erworben werden. Wir haben uns diese beiden Teile kurz nach Erscheinen zugelegt und getestet. Die Programmierung verlief problemlos, und die Funktion entspricht den Erwartungen.

Von der Firma CTI ist für diesen Zweck schon länger der deutlich günstigere ServoSteller Weg-Tip-Delay auf dem Markt. Allerdings war dieses Modul für uns nicht brauchbar, weil es nur eine Wegbegrenzung gemeinsam für beide Richtungen erlaubt. In unserem Fall wäre eine umständliche Neueinstellung des Gestänges notwendig gewesen.

Die Schildhebe- und senkfunktion wird man sinnvollerweise auf einen der Kreuzknüppel legen, welcher meist in der Mittelstellung zentriert. Die meisten Sender erlauben ein Ausbauen oder Deaktivieren der Zentrierfeder, damit entspricht die Schildstellung genau der Knüppelstellung. Wenn man diese Feder nicht ausbauen kann oder möchte, dann ist eines der beiden hier vorgestellten Module eine echte Alternative, und man hat zusätzlich das Hydraulikfeeling.

TRIM Modul
Abb: Servonaut TRIM und Servonaut CARD

TRIM
Abb: Einstellen des Servonaut TRIM direkt an der Raupe

Zurück zur Übersicht